It was totally worth it!

Many would consider the results a failure. Granted, those results appear to be nothing short of dismal, but I don’t see it that way. While I didn’t win the seat in which I campaigned for, I gave all of those individuals that voted for me another choice. Like it or not, there’s a segment of people out there that refuse to have their hands tied by a false, two party choice every couple of years, and they deserve the ability to vote based on principle, and not “for the lesser of two evils.”

I gave the voters another choice; a real choice. And I worked tirelessly to spread the message of liberty. I made a decision to dedicate my personal life towards promoting the idea of “minimum government and maximum freedom,” and I would do it all again in a heartbeat.

We did all of this having raised very little money. Instead, this campaign was “financed” by the volunteer assistance of friends and family that believe in that same message that I want to spread. We didn’t have a tv commercial or a newspaper ad. We didn’t have special interest groups or banks promoting us or giving us money. We didn’t have interns, a campaign chairman, or a treasurer. There were no advisors, publicists, or fundraisers. And last (but certainly not least), there was absolutely no previous experience in campaigning present here. No, this was as “grassroots” as it gets.

What we did have, though, was a handful of driven, dedicated, young American adults that are tired of the status quo. We’re tired of the encroachment on individual liberties, the colossal debt, and false dichotomies. We see the writing on the wall, and realize it’s irresponsible to continue ignoring it. And we did all of this with a smile on our face, enjoying the experience, learning everything we could, and believing that we just might make a difference. Maybe, just maybe, we can leave our children with a better country than the one they otherwise might inherit.

The only failure, here, would be to let this effort go to waste. We don’t have to stop spreading the philosophy of individual freedom and responsible government just because an election ended. People will listen if you talk. Liberty is an old idea whose appeal never loses its luster, after all. And remember, your representative has a phone number, an email address, and active social networking resources, all of which should always be put to use. It’s your duty to hold that individual accountable. Just because they won today doesn’t mean it should be smooth sailing for the next two years for them. Be relentless. Make them earn it. Respect them, but always remind them who they work for.

On a closing note, I want to thank everyone that supported me. I certainly stepped out of my comfort zone in this endeavor, and I don’t regret a single second of it. But I couldn’t have done it if no one believed in me, so again, thank you!

Chris Mayo, Candidate, U.S. House, IN-7, Libertarian

Leave a Reply

